When the world stops turning…

0F386DA5-BD98-4DAB-BD3D-6DCEE3FE3919.JPG

Have you ever had a moment in your life where your world stopped turning? If you have you would know it. I had never experienced it until August 28th of this year. I would not wish that feeling upon anyone. I received a phone call from family on August 28th to let me know my grandpa had gone under water and never came back up. I thought if I were to ever hear that news that I would panic, scream, and cry. Though I did not do any of those things. My world stopped! Everything was in slow motion and I was completely calm. I never shed a tear or screamed because the world had just stopped, and I became numb. It seemed like nothing was going on around me. All of my family rushed to the scene of the accident hoping were we in a nightmare, but we soon realized we weren’t and this really did happen. We were all stricken will grief that my grandpa just passed away at 59 years young in the most horrific way a… freak accident.

 

This rocked my world. My grandpa and I were very close. He was more than a grandpa he was like my other father. I needed his approval for all my decisions in life. He was my rock and my safety. As the world began to spin again I started wondering how I would ever move on in a world without him. Then I soon began to realize of these past 21 years of my life he was teaching me. He was teaching me what was important to know and do in this crazy world. These are the things he taught me:

 

  1. Family first: He taught me family is the most important thing. They will always have your back and love you unconditionally. Never turn your back on your family. He married my grandma at 22 years old. My grandma had already been married and had two children, but that did not frighten him. He took on that task and never looked back. He loved my grandma with every fiber in his body, and that was evident until his last breath. He thought she was the most beautiful and intelligent women in this world. He worked to make every single one of her dreams come true. I know I want to marry someone who thinks of me the same way. So together they raised the two children (my mom and aunt) together. Then later we four grandchildren came into the picture. They loved every single one of us so much. Family was the key to life and happiness. We did so much together as a family no matter how big or small it was. I am so thankful he taught me the importance of family.

 

  1. Treat EVERYONE with respect: My grandpa was big on respect. You did not have to like or agree with everyone, but you did have to respect them. You need to be kind to everyone. Being respectful makes you a better person. I am thankful I have been taught to be kind to all because I know how much it stings when someone is not nice to me.

 

 

  1. Educate yourself: Education is and probably always will be a big part of our family. Education does not just mean formal school. You can learn anywhere. My grandpa wanted me to learn everything. He taught me that if I want to know something I can look it up on computer or read a book to learn. I don’t have to rely on others. I can teach myself how to do something. Learning and education will never stop. There are so many facts he taught me some I wanted to know and some I didn’t, but those memories and little chunks of knowledge have stuck with me.

 

  1. Be Brave: I have been a little scared to try new things or to fail, but he taught me not to. He said I can do anything I set my stubborn mind to. I am capable to do anything and my limits are impossible. I now truly believe this because he believed in me so much.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When the world stops turning…

  1. Good read sis. We’ve discussed our connection with grandparents and I’m happy for you that you had such an inspirational person in your life like your grandfather. His legacy will live on in you now. I know that he was so proud of your accomplishments and the person you are. The greatest gift you gave him was loving him for his inspiration, guidance, and presence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

